To celebrate its 15th anniversary, sounding light releases its fourth CD recording: Unclouded Day. This uplifting collection offers brilliant performances of a kaleidoscopic array of hymns, psalms, and spiritual songs — including world premiere recordings of new works by René Clausen and Kurt Knecht, and featuring several compositions by sounding light’s own Tom Trenney. Open your heart to the radiant voices of sounding light who will surely brighten even the cloudiest day!


  1. Unclouded Day – arr. Shawn Kirchner
  2. For God Shall Give the Angels Charge Over You – Felix Mendelssohn
  3. Now Talking God – René Clausen
  4. Clear Our Heart, O God – Tom Trenney
  5. I Want to Walk as a Child of the Light – arr. Tom Trenney
  6. I Will Lift Mine Eyes – Jake Runestad
  7. It is Well with My Soul – arr. Yu-Shan Tsai
  8. Drop, Drop, Slow Tears – Kurt Knecht
  9. Like as the Hart Desireth the Waterbrooks – Herbert Howells
  10. Love Arrives- Tom Trenney
  11. The King of Love- arr. Paul Christiansen
  12. Praise the Lord, O My Soul – Ned Rorem
  13. Tonight Eternity Alone – René Clausen
  14. Hide Me Under the Shadow of Thy Wings – John E. West

Look up and See

Look up and See, released in fall 2014, features the luminous voices of sounding light in inspired music which offers an inspirational message. sounding light’s third recording features world premieres by Anne Wilson and Tom Trenney alongside contemporary favorites by René Clausen and Stephen Paulus, and spiritual songs by Andraé Crouch and Stacey Gibbs with choral classics from Norman Luboff, Alice Parker, and Robert Shaw.

Everyone who has followed sounding light from its inception will be thrilled with the group’s third recording.  The choral artistry is unmatched, and the repertoire selection tasteful and innovative.  The music and texts take the listener on a journey of first lifting up the eyes (Psalm 121), then down the road of the troubles and joys of life, and ends with two poignant, choral prayers for Christian pilgrimage.  A modern day “disc of ascent,” this recording leaves the listener looking, gratefully, to the heavens.

Randell Engle – The Banner magazine

Glories Stream from Heaven Afar

Twenty four of our sounding light singers gathered in Michigan in October 2012 to record the group’s second recording: Glories Stream from Heaven Afar. This new CD will feature colorful arrangements of beloved Christmas carols, including “Hark the Herald Angels Sing,” “Once in Royal David’s City” and “Go Tell it on the Mountain.” Though mostly a cappella, the CD features a few tracks with instrumental accompaniment from piano, flute, oboe, and handbells. Read reviews of this recording.

Clear Blue Morning

sounding light’s debut CD, Clear Blue Morning, was reviewed by Randall Engle in The Banner

This debut recording begins with anthems that explore the darkness of the night and the soul, the coldness of pain and loneliness. The choir then awakens the listener with “Jesus, the Very Thought of You,” a musical and thematic answer to the opening questions. The journey is as moving as it is powerful. The choir’s flawless interpretation, articulation, and intonation unite as a shout from the soul. This is the group’s first recording; it’s exciting to wonder what might be next.

Order CD’s

  • Price: $15.00
  • Price: $15.00
  • Price: $15.00
  • Price: $15.00
  • $0.00
    Includes $2.50 for shipping.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.